My child is anxious. How can I help ?

Home / Non classé / My child is anxious. How can I help ?

Anxiety in children brings many obstacles: difficulties in getting used to new places, people or activities, tendencies to remain on the sidelines of a group or alone, or systematically avoiding anxiety-provoking situations. In such cases, one can speak of deeper anxiety than just shyness.

Here is a list of 8 tips that can help manage your child’s anxiety.

Facing your fears

Avoiding anxiety-provoking situations keeps the anxiety running. When a child faces his fears, he learns that he can dare to excel and believe more in his abilities to do it again. He will also see that the fear he had was actually less scary and dangerous than he thought.

Be imperfect

It is important to accept the mistakes and imperfections of your child. While encouraging your child to work hard is just as important, trying to perfect will negatively affect his perception of himself.

Be positive

Anxious and stressed children can get lost in negative and self-critical thoughts. The more you are able to focus on the positive attributes of your child and the good sides of a situation, the more it will become natural for him to concentrate on the positives.

Lead by example

Your child will do like you do; if you avoid anxiety-provoking situations, he will do the same. When you think about the psychological well-being of your child, think of yours. Face your fears and, above all, take care of yourself. Your child will learn that self-love is an important part of life.

Reward courageous behaviors

When your child faces his fears, reward him with a compliment, a hug, or something like a sticker or a small treat. By rewarding courage, your child will be more likely to adopt this behavior again.

Encourage him to express himself

When your child is worried or frightened, do not say “no, you’re fine!”; this will not help your child and encourage him to keep his worries to himself. Instead, say something like “yes, you seem worried. What worries you?”. Talk to him about his emotions and fears.

Help solve problems

After validating your child’s emotions and showing that you understand his concerns, help him solve his problem. This does not mean to solve it for him, but rather to help identify possible solutions. If your child is big enough to generate solutions, let him do so. If he is still too young, generate possible solutions for him and ask him to choose the solution he thinks is the best.

Practice relaxation exercises

Sometimes, relaxation exercises are needed to help your child reduce stress and anxiety. You might ask him to take a few slow, deep breaths, to imagine being somewhere like the beach or a peaceful place he loves, or just suggest him to relax in a hammock in the back yard. You could also practice family yoga.

References :
https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/dont-worry-mom/201302/12-tips-reduce-your-childs-stress-and-anxiety
http://naitreetgrandir.com/fr/etape/1_3_ans/comportement/fiche.aspx?doc=ik-naitre-grandir-enfant-anxieux-peur
Related Posts

Mon enfant est anxieux. Comment l’aider?

Accueil / Articles / Mon enfant est anxieux. Comment l’aider?

L’anxiété chez l’enfant apporte son lot d’obstacles: difficulté à s’habituer à de nouveaux lieux, personnes ou activités, tendances à rester en marge d’un groupe ou seul, ou encore l’évitement systématiquement des situations anxiogènes. Dans ces cas-ci, on peut parler d’anxiété plus profonde que de la simple timidité.

Voici une liste de 8 conseils pouvant aider à gérer l’anxiété de votre enfant.

Faire face à ses peurs

L’évitement des situations anxiogènes maintient l’angoisse. Si un enfant fait face à ses peurs, il apprendra qu’il peut oser se dépasser et croira davantage en ses capacités à le refaire. Il verra également que sa peur est en réalité bien moins angoissante et dangereuse qu’il le croyait.

Être imparfait

Il est important d’accepter les erreurs et les imperfections de votre enfant. Bien qu’encourager votre enfant à travailler dur le soit tout autant, essayer d’être toujours parfait ne fera qu’affecter négativement sa perception de lui-même.

Être positif

Les enfants anxieux et stressés peuvent se perdre dans des pensées négatives et auto-critiques. Plus vous serez en mesure de vous concentrer sur les attributs positifs de votre enfant et les bons côtés d’une situation, plus il deviendra naturel pour lui de se concentrer sur les aspects positifs.

Montrer l’exemple

Votre enfant fera comme vous; si vous évitez les situations anxiogènes, il en fera de même. Lorsque vous pensez au bien-être psychologique de votre enfant, pensez également au vôtre. Faites face à vos peurs et surtout prenez soin de vous. Votre enfant apprendra que l’amour de soi est une partie importante de la vie.

Récompenser les comportements courageux

Lorsque votre enfant fait face à ses peurs, récompensez-le avec un compliment, un câlin, ou quelque chose comme un autocollant ou une petite gâterie. En récompensant son courage, votre enfant adoptera ce comportement plus souvent.

Encourager à s’exprimer

Quand votre enfant vous confit être inquiet ou effrayé, ne dites pas « mais non, tu vas bien! »; ceci n’aidera pas votre enfant et fera en sorte qu’il gardera ses inquiétudes pour lui-même. Dites plutot quelque chose comme: «Oui, tu sembles inquiet. Qu’est-ce qui t’inquiète? » Discutez avec lui de ses émotions et de ses peurs.

Aider à résoudre les problèmes

Après avoir validé les émotions de votre enfant et démontré que vous comprenez ses inquiétudes, aidez-le à résoudre son problème. Cela ne signifie pas de le résoudre à sa place, mais plutôt de l’aider à identifier les solutions possibles. Si votre enfant est assez grand pour générer des solutions, laissez-le faire. S’il est encore trop jeune, générez des solutions possibles pour lui et demandez-lui de choisir la solution qu’il pense être la meilleur.

Pratiquer des exercices de relaxation

Parfois, des exercices de relaxation sont nécessaires pour aider votre enfant à réduire son stress et son anxiété. Vous pourriez lui demander de prendre quelques respirations lentes et profondes, d’imaginer être quelque part comme à la plage ou un endroit paisible qu’il aime, ou tout simplement lui suggérer d’aller se détendre dans un hamac dans la cour arrière. Vous pourriez également pratiquer du yoga en famille.

Références Références :
http://psychologytoday.com/blog/dont-worry-mom/201302/12-tips-reduce-your-childs-stress-and-anxiety
http://naitreetgrandir.com/fr/etape/1_3_ans/comportement/fiche.aspx?doc=ik-naitre-grandir-enfant-anxieux-peur&lt

Related Posts
Lundi 14 octobre 2019
Nous sommes
ouverts
UNE HALLOWEEN MONSTRUEUSEMENT MAGIQUE!
Activités spéciales
et rabais monstre!
Daily Fashion
Get daily doze of fashion inspiration straight to your inbox! Subscribe now and get a free gift!
Notchless.
A collection of beautifully crafted wallpapers designed to hide the notch on the Apple iPhone X.
Save image to camera roll, pinch zoom out, set wallpaper to still.
All Stuff.
Water is all you need to keep your body hydrated. Subscribe now and win some backpacker stuff. Water bottles for free.
2018 (C) All rights reserved.
Nouvelle carte-cadeau
Offre valide du 15 novembre au 15 décembre
Obtenez un billet pour enfant
à l’achat de 50$ de produits.
Non valide sur les achats de billets pour l’expérience Bfly.
Obtenez un billet
de produits.
Non valide sur les achats de billets pour l’expérience Bfly.
pour enfant
à l’achat de 50$
Jusqu’au 2 décembre.
Until December 2nd.
Jusqu’au 2 décembre.
Meet Cammo
A brand new action camera with easy to use sharing features.
We never share your data with third parties.
2018 (C) All rights reserved.
Les fins de semaine
de 9h à 9h30*
* Achat sur place
Saturday and sunday
9ham to 9h30am*
* In-store purchases